What The *UC**?

dryer_fire

Happy Post Holidays! It’s been a little over two weeks since I last blogged, so I’m going to talk about dirty laundry.

It’s time you take your washer and dryer seriously, and I’m not talking about washing your clothes – I’m talking about cleaning your ducts. In case you are not aware, clothes in the dryer produce lint (the stuff you find in a your belly button) and dust which can find itself cluttered inside the ductwork. So what’s the problem? If the layers of lint and dust accumulate enough in the dryer’s duct, it can create a serious fire hazard – which we all know leads to….YES! FIRE!

Besides creating a fire hazard, the lack of duct cleaning will also cause your dryer to not dry as quickly because the tube is blocked by water. Enough water in the tube will cause the tube to split because of the pressure and the water will start to go elsewhere, like your ceiling.

How often? It’s recommended you inspect the vent and the hose for any blockage at least every six months.

Why am I bringing this up now? I have a rental unit listed in Sunny Isles Beach in a building called King David and there is a washer and dryer unit inside apartment. After visiting the lovely association, they informed me that every landlord is required to clean their dryer ducts. Why did they only mention this now? The King David building, which was built in 2005 has never had any of the dryer ducts cleaned by a landlord – inspector’s red flag? You bet! Now they are obligating all the landlords in the building to clean their ducts before it’s too late. If you want your duct cleaned then ask me and I can refer you some companies. If you are interested in doing it yourself, then email me to masso@kw.com or comment on my facebook page and say “I want to clean my ducts myself” and I will provide you with instructions on how to do so along with pictures so you don’t get lost. If you are interested in renting a unit in the King David building then email me at masso@kw.com.

